Hotels Reviews

A return to Hyatt Regency London Blackfriars with suite upgrade – is it worth it?

flags on the front of a building

We may receive a commission when you use our links. Monkey Miles is part of an affiliate sales network and receives compensation for sending traffic to partner sites, such as CreditCards.com and CardRatings. This relationship may impact how and where links appear on this site. This site does not include all financial companies or all available financial offers. Monkey Miles is also a Senior Advisor to Bilt Rewards. Terms apply to American Express benefits and offers. Enrollment may be required for select American Express benefits and offers. Visit americanexpress.com to learn more Opinions, reviews, analyses & recommendations are the author’s alone, and have not been reviewed, endorsed or approved by any of these entities.


Hyatt Regency London Blackfriars

I had the good fortune to not only book a single night’s stay at the Hyatt Regency London Blackfriars within a week of it opening in early June, but roughly a month later I returned. I’m definitely a fan of Hyatt’s newest London property and undoubtedly will stay again. My first stay received no upgrade; however, I did use an explorist club upgrade certificate which included restaurant breakfast. My second stay was more fruitful and I ended up in a Regency Suite with City View – I added a club upgrade certificate to it as well since this second stay actually pushed me over the threshold for the Bilt Rewards Hyatt Status Challenge and yielded the coveted globalist status. Through Feb 2025 I will have access to club level whenever I stay at Hyatt’s so I wasn’t too worried about burning the upgrades on short stays.

Long story, short: I really like this hotel’s location and will absolutely return, but if you’re looking to apply a globalist suite upgrade, or use points to upgrade, I wouldn’t do so…the added value is minimal. If you really want a true upgrade to a suite, I would turn your attention to the Hyatt Regency London Churchill and request one with a balcony – those are impressively large, well lit, and the outdoor space is very cool in central London.

a large building with many windows

Stay Details

  • When:
    • Stay 1: June 2023
    • Stay 2: July 2023
  • Where: Hyatt Regency Blackfriars
  • Rate:
    • Stay 1: 20k points ( category 5 standard pricing )
      • Cash was $400
    • Stay2: 23k points ( Cat 5 peak pricing )
      • Cash was $550
  • Room:
    • Stay 1: King Standard
    • Stay 2: Regency Suite with City View
  • Upgrade:
    • Stay 1: None
    • Stay 2: yes to suite
  • Status:
    • Stay 1: Explorist with a club upgrade cert attached
    • Stay 2: Explorist
  • Perks
    • 2pm late checkout, extended to 3pm

flags on the front of a building

Other London Hotels we’ve reviewed

Location

If you’re coming into town to see Buckingham Palace, Hyde Park, Leicester Square, etc then this location may not be the best for you. Not that it’s hard to get there, the tube is just outside, but if you’re not going to use the tube, it’s a much longer walk than other properties which are smack dab in the middle of those touristy areas. Blackfriars, while still very central, is just a bit outside that area. Perfect for someone like me who isn’t necessarily looking to visit all of the touristy places, wants a nice place to sleep, and finds utilizing the tube quite easy.

I was very happy with what was just outside the hotel! One thing I always look for is a place to buy snacks, a Starbucks, and easy access to public transport. Voila…

  • Bus Stop
  • Blackfriars Tube Station
  • Tesco
  • Sainsbury
  • Starbucks

a street with cars and buildingsBlackfriars  Tube/Train  stationa group of people walking on a street

Here you can see if on Google Maps:

One thing to note as well…the Uber Boat comes to Blackfriars and Bankside ( across the bridge ) for pickup and drop off. A great way to pop down the Thames to Battersea, Big Ben, etc.

a boat on the water

Check in

As I mentioned, the hotel just opened a week before my visit and there was some confusion at check in. My upgrade certificate wasn’t mentioned, so I brought it to their attention, and because the lounge wasn’t finished, there was confusion over what benefit I got for breakfast. Ultimately, it was clear I would just have breakfast in the restaurant, same as a Globalist would, but I had to inquire with several different people. Since the club was closed, they gave you a club card that you present to staff in the lobby bar for free drinks, canapes, etc.

The hotel was quite empty. Online, you could book any category room, suites were available with points, but I wasn’t given any kind of upgrade. Odd given I did have some status and the hotel being far from full.

a room with a bar and chairs

The Room

Since I’ve had two very different categories of room I’ll break it down into two stays. I would note…it’s absolutely unnecessary to use a suite upgrade certificate here…the suites don’t have additional seating, are marginally bigger, and still don’t have fully enclosed closets. The corner aspect of the suite is nice for lighting, but that’s about it.

Stay 1: King Standard

The hotel is so new that it still smells of fresh paint when walking down the corridors. I was on the 3rd floor facing the side street and in a standard king room. One thing that was really great about the room was the usb-c ports next to the bed for fast charging. A big miss was not including international plugs – I don’t understand why luxury hotels aren’t automatically installing those so guests don’t have to use converters, but alas, so few do.

a room with a bed and a round tableWelcome note with some sweets and the mini fridge had two complimentary waters.

It was finished very handsomely.

a room with a television and a table

The bathroom had a great rain shower.

a bathroom with a sink and mirrorStay 2: Regency Suite with city view

I’m not really sure how this can be categorized as a suite…even a junior suite. While I appreciate having some added space in any room I stay in, let alone more space in central London, the added space here is mainly unusable. Don’t get me wrong, I appreciate the upgrade, but the premium to stay in this room vs the standard just isn’t worth it.

The entrance of the room has an open style closet and a small work station overlooking the side street. Great little work station.

a room with a desk and a mirror

Continuing down the hall the bathroom is on the right, only a shower, and there is a small table and chair as well. The bedroom is at the end of the short hall. This is the reverse shot so can you see how short that hallway really is.

a room with a television and a bed

Another angle showing the bathroom and entry

a room with a white robe on a swingerRegarding the bathroom…

There isn’t anything substantially different from the standard king bathroom: single vanity, shower, etc

The Gym

In the basement is a small, but nice gym. I hopped down there first thing after check in to try and help my body adjust to jetlag. They also had a ton of still and sparkling water in glass bottles. If you know, you know…never pay for water in your room…just pop down to the gym.

Regency Club

The Regency Club was temporarily in the lobby bar, City Lounge, and was quite cool! They gave everyone an a la carte afternoon tea tower for their afternoon canapes. This was served alongside wine, beer, spirits, and ran from 5 to 7pm.

a table with food on it

Dining

  • City Lounge ( the Lobby Bar )
  • Chinese Cricket Club
  • NynLon ( not yet open )
  • Leaf and Cane

Chinese Cricket Club

Breakfast served in the Chinese Cricket Club. It was buffet style with an a la carte menu. A little hiccup occurred here as well when I said my room number for complimentary breakfast, it wasn’t listed. I was seated, but not informed until I was finished that it was indeed complimentary. I would imagine this creases will be ironed out as the hotel is open for longer and staff have more training, and the official regency club is open

They had pork, chicken and veggie sausage, which I thought to be a nice touch for those who don’t eat beef or pork. Personally, I thought the breakfast to be nice, but nothing to right home about – I also wasn’t given any options from the a la carte menu so I’d guess that there is more selection there.

a plate of food and coffeeLeaf and Cane

Not open when I was there, but looks very, very cool. This looks like it would be a fun spot to end the night at, or perhaps start the night at, spend the night at? I dunno…it looked very cool.

Overall

I thoroughly enjoyed my stay and will absolutely come back again.

 

Opinions, reviews, analyses & recommendations are the author’s alone, and have not been reviewed, endorsed or approved by any of these entities.

a blue credit card with blue lines and white text

Learn More

Affiliate LInk

Chase Sapphire Preferred® Card


4.8
4.8/5
The Chase Sapphire Preferred® is a great starter card that earns Premium Ultimate Rewards that can be transferred into over a dozen partners many of which are US based including Hyatt, Southwest, United, IHG, and Marriott.

Welcome Offer

Earn 60,000 bonus points after you spend $4,000 on purchases in the first 3 months from account opening. 

Annual Fee

$95

Points Earned

Transferrable Chase Ultimate Rewards

  • Earn 60,000 bonus points after you spend $4,000 on purchases in the first 3 months from account opening.
    • That’s $750 when you redeem through Chase Travel℠
  • 5x on all travel purchased through Chase Travel℠
  • 3x on dining, including eligible delivery services for takeout & dining out
  • 3x on select streaming services
  • 3x on online grocery purchases
    • (excluding Target, Walmart and wholesale clubs)
  • $50 Annual Chase Travel Hotel Credit via Chase Travel℠
    • The begins immediately for new cardmembers and after your account anniversary for existing cardmembers
  • 2x on all other travel
  • 10% Anniversary Bonus
    • Every year you keep the card, your total spend will yield a 10% points bonus. If you spend $10k in a year, you’ll get 1k bonus points
  • Chase Sapphire Preferred continues to redeem at 1.25c in the Chase Travel℠ and the slew of other benefits remain in tact including Auto Rental Collision Damage Waiver ( primary ), purchase protections, etc.
  • Points are transferrable to 14 Ultimate Rewards partners
  • Redeem in Chase Travel℠ for 1.25 cents per point
  • No foreign transaction fees
  • Suite of Travel and Purchase Coverage
    • Auto Rental Collision Damage Waiver is my favorite
  • Get complimentary access to DashPass which unlocks $0 delivery fees and lower service fees for a minimum of one year when you activate by December 31, 2024
  • $95 Annual Fee

We keep an up to date spreadsheet that lists the best ever offers: You can find that spreadsheet here.

Historically 80k is a very, very good offer and hit in both 2022 and 2023. In 2021, we saw the offer hit an all time high of 100k. Who knows if that will ever come back.

Main Cast: 

Cards that earn flexible points and should be used on the bulk of your purchases.

Supporting Cast:

Cards that earn fixed points in the currency of the airline/hotel and can not be transferred at attractive rates. These cards yield benefits that make it worth keeping, but not necessarily worth putting a lot of your everyday spend on. 

The Chase Sapphire Preferred® is exceptional starter card and offers transferrable Ultimate Rewards, and pairs well with other Chase cards.

If you carry this card alongside Chase’s cashback cards like the Chase Freedom Flex®  and Chase Freedom Unlimited® or the business versions: Ink Business Cash® , Ink Business Unlimited® you can combine the points into Preferred account and transfer into hotel and airline partners

Annual fee is quite low at $95 a year + you get a 10% anniversary bonus on points + $50 hotel credit in Chase travel.

The responses below are not provided or commissioned by the bank advertiser. Responses have not been reviewed, approved, or otherwise endorsed by the bank advertiser. It is not the bank advertiser's responsibility to ensure all posts and/or questions are answered.

4 Comments

  • […] Hyatt Regency Blackfriars London […]

  • MC July 20, 2023

    I just booked the suite here for May 2024 (17K points and 139 cash) as I am a party of 3. Second guessing though b/c here for 10 nights (split stay here and Hilton Waldorf). I am diamond at WAldorf and wondering if Waldorf just better to stay at 10 nights and cancel this Hyatt? First time visitor and description didn’t sound close to locations. etc. Thoughts> thanks!

  • dwondermeant June 22, 2023

    Seems overpriced but nice to have another London option.
    I typically go Hilton in London as they allow me to use the club or the restaurant and I find their properties to always be 50 dollars less a day less than Hyatt.More importantly I like a few of their properties better than Andaz or Churchill.
    If your a globalist and received no upgrade thats not a good sign IMO! I’ll wait for some more data points before considering

  • Laslo Toth June 14, 2023

    Would love to learn more about the suites. Their site doesn’t have many photos.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.