Reviews

Review: Intercontinental London Park Lane

two men standing in front of a building

We may receive a commission when you use our links. Monkey Miles is part of an affiliate sales network and receives compensation for sending traffic to partner sites, such as CreditCards.com and CardRatings. This relationship may impact how and where links appear on this site. This site does not include all financial companies or all available financial offers. Monkey Miles is also a Senior Advisor to Bilt Rewards. Opinions, reviews, analyses & recommendations are the author’s alone, and have not been reviewed, endorsed or approved by any of these entities.


Review: Intercontinental London Park Lane

The Intercontinental London Park Lane is located at No. 1 Park Lane. I MEAN….can you get more posh?! Needless to say, it’s situated in an incredible location: Hyde Park Corner. There are nearby tube stations ( we’re talking 5 mins), HARROD’s is 5 mins away, and Hyde Park is immediately across the street. I would have to say that this property is one of Intercontinental’s flagship properties in the world. Here’s my Review: Intercontinental London Park Lane

intercontinental-london-park-lane-3-of-28

The Intercontinental London Park Lane review is part of the NFL in London, Scotland, and Dublin Trip Report:


The Background

My family knew we would take at least 1 big trip together, and we wanted to bank as many points as we could. It worked out that late last year, IHG had this incredible promotion whereby you could mail in entires to earn points.  My mom, dad, and I all entered that promotion and earned roughly 200k IHG points. In addition to that promotion we all participated in the Accelerate Fall 2015 program and signed up for IHG cards. From that we earned 250k+ more IHG points and my mom earned two free nights at any IHG in the world.  We were pretty well healed to hit up some IHG properties. SO when the chance to come to London for the Colts game presented itself…we knew what to do.

In order to max out stay, we used my Dad’s account, which is Ambassador, to anchor the trip and link the other reservations to that were redeemed from other accounts. This would give the best shot at upgrades and also for my parents – the ability to stay in the same room the whole time. It worked like a charm.

The Deets

  • When: October 2016
  • Where: London
  • Rewards Program: IHG/ Intercontinental Ambassador
  • Status: Spire Elite Ambassador
  • How much: 50,000 ( booked pre-deval – now 60k)
  • Category Room – Superior
  • Other benefits –Upgrade from Standard room
  • Total Value – 300 GBP/night ( at the time of booking the pound was roughly 1.5…when we arrived 1.3)
  • Savings from points – $390-450 per night

Pre Check-in

I’d written about this in September, but when an award is booked through an Ambassador account it guaranteed an upgrade. The cool thing is you can, often times, check what your upgrade is going to be. I could tell I was going to get at least a category upgrade prior to arrival. screen-shot-2016-10-18-at-8-51-58-pm

Check-In

The hotel was renovated in 2007 and the interesting thing is that the Lobby and common spaces are far more contemporary and of the London Park Lane vibe than are the rooms. In fact, the entire ground floor doesn’t fee like an Intercontinental at all – At least not the ones that I’ve stayed in. The rooms, however, are distinctly Intercontinental.

intercontinental-london-park-lane-6-of-28
intercontinental-london-park-lane-8-of-28

intercontinental-london-park-lane-7-of-28

intercontinental-london-park-lane-10-of-28

intercontinental-london-park-lane-9-of-28

Superior Room

The rooms are NOT big, that’s for sure, But they are handsomely appointed. Let’s be honest, nothing in London is large but I think it would be worth looking into paying the difference between a Superior and the London Collection rooms. The London collection offers newly refurbished rooms and club lounge access ( which they offered for $40 a day, per person). Here are the specs between the two:

screen-shot-2016-10-18-at-10-09-51-pm

And London Collectionscreen-shot-2016-10-18-at-10-11-23-pm
intercontinental-london-park-lane-13-of-28

intercontinental-london-park-lane-18-of-28

intercontinental-london-park-lane-16-of-28

intercontinental-london-park-lane-14-of-28

intercontinental-london-park-lane-15-of-28

intercontinental-london-park-lane-19-of-28

intercontinental-london-park-lane-21-of-28 intercontinental-london-park-lane-20-of-28

I have to say…given the fact that you can get a free night with a Chase IHG card, this hotel is an INSANE value.

Fitness Center

There is plenty of space, it’s well maintained, and has everything you could possibly need.

intercontinental-london-park-lane-23-of-28 intercontinental-london-park-lane-28-of-28 intercontinental-london-park-lane-27-of-28 intercontinental-london-park-lane-24-of-28

Overall:

The hotel is SUPERBLY located. The common areas are fantastic and luxuriously appointed. The rooms remind me a lot of the old style Intercontinental rooms, kind of like I stayed at in Sandton, South Africa, and are small but comfy. I didn’t eat at the restaurant, but my folks did and they absolutely loved it. Next time I’m in town I’d love to check out one of the new London Collection rooms. It looks like the style of the lobby is carried through these rooms, and I’d guess eventually will be implemented on all the rooms of the hotel.

Opinions, reviews, analyses & recommendations are the author’s alone, and have not been reviewed, endorsed or approved by any of these entities.

a blue credit card with blue lines and white text

Learn More

Refer a Friend Link 

 Information about this card has been collected independently by Monkey Miles. Card issuer is not responsible for the information or accuracy.

Chase Sapphire Preferred® Card


4.8
4.8/5
The Chase Sapphire Preferred® is a great starter card that earns Premium Ultimate Rewards that can be transferred into over a dozen partners many of which are US based including Hyatt, Southwest, United, IHG, and Marriott.

Welcome Offer

Earn 75,000 bonus points after you spend $4,000 on purchases in the first 3 months from account opening. 

*you may find an elevated offer walking into a branch – see below

Annual Fee

$95

Points Earned

Transferrable Chase Ultimate Rewards

  • Earn 75,000 bonus points after you spend $4,000 on purchases in the first 3 months from account opening.
    • That’s $750 when you redeem through Chase Travel℠
    • Some people have seen Chase branches offering the following:
      • 75k Ultimate Rewards After $4k spend in 3 months + 10k Ultimate Rewards after $6k in 6 months 
  • 5x on all travel purchased through Chase Travel℠
  • 3x on dining, including eligible delivery services for takeout & dining out
  • 3x on select streaming services
  • 3x on online grocery purchases
    • (excluding Target, Walmart and wholesale clubs)
  • $50 Annual Chase Travel Hotel Credit via Chase Travel℠
    • The begins immediately for new cardmembers and after your account anniversary for existing cardmembers
  • 2x on all other travel
  • 10% Anniversary Bonus
    • Every year you keep the card, your total spend will yield a 10% points bonus. If you spend $10k in a year, you’ll get 1k bonus points
  • Chase Sapphire Preferred continues to redeem at 1.25c in the Chase Travel℠ and the slew of other benefits remain in tact including Auto Rental Collision Damage Waiver ( primary ), purchase protections, etc.
  • Points are transferrable to 14 Ultimate Rewards partners
  • Redeem in Chase Travel℠ for 1.25 cents per point
  • No foreign transaction fees
  • Suite of Travel and Purchase Coverage
    • Auto Rental Collision Damage Waiver is my favorite
  • Get complimentary access to DashPass which unlocks $0 delivery fees and lower service fees for a minimum of one year when you activate by December 31, 2024
  • $95 Annual Fee

We keep an up to date spreadsheet that lists the best ever offers: You can find that spreadsheet here.

Historically 80k is a very, very good offer and hit in both 2022 and 2023. In 2021, we saw the offer hit an all time high of 100k. Who knows if that will ever come back.

Main Cast: 

Cards that earn flexible points and should be used on the bulk of your purchases.

Supporting Cast:

Cards that earn fixed points in the currency of the airline/hotel and can not be transferred at attractive rates. These cards yield benefits that make it worth keeping, but not necessarily worth putting a lot of your everyday spend on. 

The Chase Sapphire Preferred® is exceptional starter card and offers transferrable Ultimate Rewards, and pairs well with other Chase cards.

If you carry this card alongside Chase’s cashback cards like the Chase Freedom Flex℠and Chase Freedom Unlimited® or the business versions: Ink Business Cash® , Ink Business Unlimited® you can combine the points into Preferred account and transfer into hotel and airline partners

Annual fee is quite low at $95 a year + you get a 10% anniversary bonus on points + $50 hotel credit in Chase travel.

The responses below are not provided or commissioned by the bank advertiser. Responses have not been reviewed, approved, or otherwise endorsed by the bank advertiser. It is not the bank advertiser's responsibility to ensure all posts and/or questions are answered.

12 Comments

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.