Reviews

Review: EVA Business Class Royal Laurel TPE-SGN

a plane with seats and people in the back

We may receive a commission when you use our links. Monkey Miles is part of an affiliate sales network and receives compensation for sending traffic to partner sites, such as CreditCards.com and CardRatings. This relationship may impact how and where links appear on this site. This site does not include all financial companies or all available financial offers. Monkey Miles is also a Senior Advisor to Bilt Rewards. Opinions, reviews, analyses & recommendations are the author’s alone, and have not been reviewed, endorsed or approved by any of these entities.


Review: EVA Business Class Royal Laurel TPE-SGN

Last year I’d written about Singapore Air Krisflyer having an Intra-Asia sweet spot. I stumbled upon it while searching for ways to route Dave and I through Asia. As luck would have it, a good buddy of ours was going to be in Taipei at the same exact time as us, and this was the excuse we needed to stopover in Taipei for a couple days. We had a fantastic flight over on China Airlines Business Class for $5.60, and two amazing ( and free) nights at the Grand Hyatt Taipei, but we wanted a great ride down to Saigon. What we ultimately found was a perfectly timed EVA Business Class Royal Laurel TPE-SGN flight that could be had for just 27,500 Krisflyer and roughly $24.

EVA Royal Laurel Business Class 777-300ER TPE-SGN - 5 of 94

Passion for points

This means, all in, Dave and I flew from Indianapolis to Saigon in Business Class, with a 2 night stopover in Taipei at a 5 star hotel, AND THEN to Saigon in EVA Royal Laurel for ~$30 out of pocket and points. On top of that, we caught up with our buddy Fritz halfway around the world. This is the kind of stuff you tell your grandkids about it, and why I’m obsessed with points. It’s the memories and shared experience that drive this passion, and all 3 of us left Taipei on EVA’s Royal Laurel. Dave and I to Saigon, with a Singapore Air Krisflyer redemption, and Fritz used his Ultimate Rewards to transfer to United, and redeem 80k of them to fly back home to the states.

EVA Royal Laurel Business Class 777-300ER TPE-SGN - 18 of 94

The Deets on EVA Business Class Royal Laurel 777-300ER TPE-SGN

  • When: December 31st, 2016
  • Airline: EVA
  • Route: TPE-SGN
  • Flight: BR 391
  • Plane: 777-300ER
  • Duration: 3 hours 25 mins
  • Class: Business Class “Royal Laurel”
  • Seat: 3D
  • Program: Singapore Krisflyer
  • Status: None
  • Cost: 27,500 + $23.72

I used United to find the avail:

Screen Shot 2017-01-30 at 2.35.02 PM

I then Called Singapore to book the flight. You can use Singapore Krisflyer by transferring from:

screen-shot-2016-12-25-at-4-32-56-pm

It was a perfect first date. 3.5 hours was simply not enough. Is it too soon to call? Text? Can I Retweet? How bout a like or favorite…I’m so confused, all I want to do is spend more time with EVA…like on a long haul in pjs, sipping Dom, and enjoying a luxuries of a Rimowa amenity kit.

Out of all the legs on this trip, this was the most surprising. I thought Royal Laurel would be very nice, but the service was ridics. The cabin was nearly empty, so I’m sure we got more attention, but the staff COULD NOT do enough for us. They made us feel as though they were anticipating our needs, wants, hopes, desires, aspirations, goals, wishes, concerns, balanced our check books, steadied our blood alcohol levels, lowered our body fat, increased our libidos and hair line, and kept us modest. I’m only partially exaggerating…they tried, but couldn’t keep Miles modest.  I’m pretty sure they would have even proofread a blog post if I’d asked…which I often times should do more than once. I digress. The point is…it far EXCEEDED expectation.

It’s an amazing feeling to board a plane, see genuine smiles coming from people who made us feel as though we were truly their honored guests. I can’t believe 27,500 Krisflyer and $24 did this.

The cabin was so empty I toured. Started at the window.

Window

EVA Royal Laurel Business Class 777-300ER TPE-SGN - 15 of 94

2 windows, noise canceling headphones, pillow, blanket, reverse herringbone, and yes – lie-flat

EVA Royal Laurel Business Class 777-300ER TPE-SGN - 12 of 94

Ample storage

Controls and outlets:

 

Wifi:

Sleepy? After come Veuve Le Grande Dame you might need to rest the peepers.

EVA Royal Laurel Business Class 777-300ER TPE-SGN - 26 of 94

Speaking of Le Grande Dame:

moved to the middle after take off

Screen Shot 2017-01-30 at 3.27.55 PM

EVA Royal Laurel Business Class 777-300ER TPE-SGN - 65 of 94

3 things that will set the tone for the meal: Champagne. Menu. Table setting. EVA impressed across the board. Look at the detail in the menus and table setting.

EVA Royal Laurel Business Class 777-300ER TPE-SGN - 28 of 94

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

The Detail…

Even the wrapper on the silverware was detailed. The table cloth was out of a restaurant and the china they used drew it all together. Even the sugar for the espresso was styled. Brush your shoulders off EVA…

The food was very good. I had the fish, tiramisu, and an espresso

I absolutely loved the cabin, the seat, and ESPECIALLY the service. EVA was thoroughly impressive.

EVA Royal Laurel Business Class 777-300ER TPE-SGN - 53 of 94

Overall:

This was a great way to fly from Taipei to Saigon. EVA will melt all of your worries and frets away. It’s really an immersion into high end service and an effortless goal to make the passenger feel as if their needs are met before they knew they had them. That’s beyond rare. It’s really a split between first and business class. Walking off the plane I was left with the feeling that I needed to book another trip to Asia to fly Royal Laurel on a long-haul.

Flying in these cabins is always such an experience. What’s even cooler is doing it with friends and fam. Dave and I were so fortunate to go around the world last year and dip our toes in some amazing cabins, hotels, and bucket list adventures. This just adds another to the list that we’ve been able to do together. Our other best friend, Shane, is meeting up with us in Cambodia – the 3 of us have known eachother for 20 years…he’s getting into points as well and will surely be mentioned on more trips to come, but it’s pretty cool to do these things with lifelong friends.


This review is a part of the Trip Report: Miles Traces his roots in Southeast Asia

Opinions, reviews, analyses & recommendations are the author’s alone, and have not been reviewed, endorsed or approved by any of these entities.

a blue credit card with blue lines and white text

Learn More

Refer a Friend Link 

 Information about this card has been collected independently by Monkey Miles. Card issuer is not responsible for the information or accuracy.

Chase Sapphire Preferred® Card


4.8
4.8/5
The Chase Sapphire Preferred® is a great starter card that earns Premium Ultimate Rewards that can be transferred into over a dozen partners many of which are US based including Hyatt, Southwest, United, IHG, and Marriott.

Welcome Offer

Earn 75,000 bonus points after you spend $4,000 on purchases in the first 3 months from account opening. 

*you may find an elevated offer walking into a branch – see below

Annual Fee

$95

Points Earned

Transferrable Chase Ultimate Rewards

  • Earn 75,000 bonus points after you spend $4,000 on purchases in the first 3 months from account opening.
    • That’s $750 when you redeem through Chase Travel℠
    • Some people have seen Chase branches offering the following:
      • 75k Ultimate Rewards After $4k spend in 3 months + 10k Ultimate Rewards after $6k in 6 months 
  • 5x on all travel purchased through Chase Travel℠
  • 3x on dining, including eligible delivery services for takeout & dining out
  • 3x on select streaming services
  • 3x on online grocery purchases
    • (excluding Target, Walmart and wholesale clubs)
  • $50 Annual Chase Travel Hotel Credit via Chase Travel℠
    • The begins immediately for new cardmembers and after your account anniversary for existing cardmembers
  • 2x on all other travel
  • 10% Anniversary Bonus
    • Every year you keep the card, your total spend will yield a 10% points bonus. If you spend $10k in a year, you’ll get 1k bonus points
  • Chase Sapphire Preferred continues to redeem at 1.25c in the Chase Travel℠ and the slew of other benefits remain in tact including Auto Rental Collision Damage Waiver ( primary ), purchase protections, etc.
  • Points are transferrable to 14 Ultimate Rewards partners
  • Redeem in Chase Travel℠ for 1.25 cents per point
  • No foreign transaction fees
  • Suite of Travel and Purchase Coverage
    • Auto Rental Collision Damage Waiver is my favorite
  • Get complimentary access to DashPass which unlocks $0 delivery fees and lower service fees for a minimum of one year when you activate by December 31, 2024
  • $95 Annual Fee

We keep an up to date spreadsheet that lists the best ever offers: You can find that spreadsheet here.

Historically 80k is a very, very good offer and hit in both 2022 and 2023. In 2021, we saw the offer hit an all time high of 100k. Who knows if that will ever come back.

Main Cast: 

Cards that earn flexible points and should be used on the bulk of your purchases.

Supporting Cast:

Cards that earn fixed points in the currency of the airline/hotel and can not be transferred at attractive rates. These cards yield benefits that make it worth keeping, but not necessarily worth putting a lot of your everyday spend on. 

The Chase Sapphire Preferred® is exceptional starter card and offers transferrable Ultimate Rewards, and pairs well with other Chase cards.

If you carry this card alongside Chase’s cashback cards like the Chase Freedom Flex℠and Chase Freedom Unlimited® or the business versions: Ink Business Cash® , Ink Business Unlimited® you can combine the points into Preferred account and transfer into hotel and airline partners

Annual fee is quite low at $95 a year + you get a 10% anniversary bonus on points + $50 hotel credit in Chase travel.

The responses below are not provided or commissioned by the bank advertiser. Responses have not been reviewed, approved, or otherwise endorsed by the bank advertiser. It is not the bank advertiser's responsibility to ensure all posts and/or questions are answered.

22 Comments

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.